Staples

April 8, 2009

We all have our routines, and as crazy and hair-brained as they might seem to others, there is a dynamic about them we can’t live without.  For instance, I will open up to you and share with you my morning essentials: if I don’t have my toothbrush, eyeliner, blush, blow dryer, and breakfast (in that order) it does not bode well for the day.  Its not much, but it is what gets me through the wee hours of the morning.

feet

For some it may be a rule of silence until caffein. For others there is the morning review of emails and favorite online blogs.  Whatever they may be, we all have our rituals–not limited to the morning–and they set the rhythm in our lives.

This is especially true for me in regards to food.  Every week, my significant other and I take a seat on our respective living room couches, I with pen and planner in hand, and we begin the arduous task of hashing out the week’s menu. Looking through my planner over the past six months, I have noticed more than a little proof of ritual. There is no denying the fact that I am a creature of habit and capable of very little diversity in the every day. I discovered a strong pattern to our meal planning: there were a handful of dishes we  had had AT LEAST once a month since getting hitched. And in the weeks to come, I am going to share these few  noteworthy staples with you. 

A taste of what is to come, you ask? But of course!

There will be the home made granola ritual.  I will also unveil the glory of mushrooms and creme fraîche on toast (taken from Molly Wizenberg of Orangette). Then i will share my basic Asian soup that translates quite well into a stir fry.

p1000802

Next there will be the scrumptious beet salad. And finally, there will be our midweek cooking cop-out of chips and dip (AKA: the-best-pico- you’ve-ever-had).

Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

