School Pics

September 11, 2010

Well, school has begun.

My section at the Iowa Culinary Institute  had its first “Gourmet Dinner”.

I remember serving at these dinners a year ago and wondering if I would be able to turn out food as delicious and beautiful as I saw…and I think we did alright.

This was the menu:

Amuse Bouche:

Soba Noodle Fork with Summer Brunoise & Copperwell Sauce

Appetizer:

Roasted Scallop with Braised Oyster Mushrooms, Poached Quail Egg, Pea Puree & White Wine Nage

Soup Course:

Sweet Corn Cob Soup with Crab, Chive Biscuit, Créme Fraîche & Corn Cob Syrup

Fish Course:

Olive Oil Poached Salmon, Tomato Chutney, Leek Fondue, & Caper Berries

Intermezzo:

Watermelon Lemonade Granite with Compressed Watermelon & Mum Petals

Entrée:

Beef Tenderloin with Duck Hash, Pickled Cherries & Grainy Mustard Jus

Dessert:

Sawdust Pudding, Orange Cookies & Alize Berries

Here are a few shoddy pictures I captured with my iPhone. In all the hubbub and frenzy or service, I didn’t get shots of the amuse bouche, soup course I now have the soup course below, or the completed dessert or entrée course. I’ll have to be more diligent next time!

Have a good weekend, everyone!

Leave a Reply

